4 New Tulsa Restaurants to Try in the New Year

Happy New Year! If you’re like me, each new year comes with a resolution to be more adventurous, to get out of ruts and try new things. That’s why I thought I’d share a few new Tulsa eateries I’m excited to try!

Happy New Year! If you’re like me, each new year comes with a resolution to be more adventurous, to get out of ruts and try new things. That’s why I thought I’d share a few new Tulsa eateries I’m excited to try!

1. My Fit Foods

While I haven’t been to the new Tulsa location on Cherry Street yet, I used to frequent My Fit Foods in Houston when I lived there and was a crazy, focused marathoner. And since it is Jan. 1 and everyone’s making resolutions to drink spinach smoothies and eat granola for every meal, I thought now might be a good time to suggest a place that has good-tasting healthy food. My Fit Foods is an ingenious concept. Meals are pre-cooked and pre-packaged, so all you have to do is walk in, check out the nutrition information, and choose a meal(s) that’s appealing to you.

BBQ_ChickenWhile My Fit Foods could be considered a grocery store to some (yes, some people actually buy all of their meals for the week there), it also functions as a restaurant. It’s a great place to have lunch with a health-conscious friend, and there are plenty of seating areas and microwaves to nuke your food. If you’re wary of trying “healthy food,” check out some of these menu options: BBQ Chicken with Cheddar Mashed Potatoes and Green Beans (pictured), Chicken Fettuccine, and Tenderloin Stir Fry. My Fit Foods is located at 1601 E. 15th Street.

2. The Vault

I’ve heard a lot of talk about The Vault and can’t wait to check it out. Located downtown at 620 S. Cincinnati, the Vault serves classic American fare and cocktails in a mid-century setting. The 1950’s style was inspired by the building’s history; the space where the restaurant is located was originally First National Autobank, opened in 1959.

Open for lunch and dinner on weekdays and dinner on Saturdays, The Vault serves everything from mac and cheese to chicken noodle soup to a variety of sandwiches and salads. The beverage list includes a number of wines, beers and specialty cocktails, including classic favorites such as Mai Tai, Manhattan and whiskey sour.

3. Five Guys Burgers and Fries

If your New Year’s resolution is to eat healthier, this is probably not the place for you. But if you’re itching to try the place literally all of Tulsa has been talking about over the last few months and can afford to pack on the extra calories, then you’re probably OK to try Five Guys at 9635 Riverside Parkway in Tulsa. I’ve had Five Guys in other cities and enjoy the simplicity of ordering (you get to choose exactly what you want on your burger), the low cost (it’s been called “The Best $5 Burger a Man Can Eat” by GQ Magazine), and the deliciousness of it all. And Five Guys does offer more than just burgers and fries; Bacon Cheese Dogs, Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Veggie Sandwiches, and BLTs are other popular menu items.

4. Einstein Bros. Bagelsebb_logo

A friend of mine recently posted a pic on Instagram of the new Einstein Bros. Bagels opening in south Tulsa (essentially Bixby) at 101st and Memorial. My glee that Tulsa is finally home to an Einstein Bros. was tarnished only by the realization that as a Midtowner, I am basically never on that side of town. Nevertheless, my love for Einstein Bros. may invoke me to drive 15 miles just to bite into a warm Dutch Apple Bagel and a cup of their out-of-this-world Vanilla Hazelnut coffee. People, please trust my 2.5 years of eating Einstein Bros. in Houston experience: their coffee is, in my humble opinion, the BEST chain restaurant brewed coffee in the universe.

Einstein Bros. also has some delicious lunch items, such as wraps, bagel sandwiches, bagel pizzas, soups and salads. I’m pretty excited to drive south soon for a rekindling of my food affair with Einstein Bros.

Author: Lindsay

When I’m not updating this blog, I’m a wife, a mom to a sweet little boy and a cute miniature Schnauzer, and a marketing professional. I love running and have 2 marathons and 7 half-marathons under my belt. I'm passionate about knowing God better and helping others get closer to Him!

2 thoughts on “4 New Tulsa Restaurants to Try in the New Year”

Leave a Reply

